I have joined the United States Navy

Today, I affirmed the United States oath of enlistment and officially joined the United States Navy.  I am currently set to ship out in December, but that could change in the coming days, weeks, or months.  I don’t have much to write, suffice it to say that I’m a bit tired after a long day of tests, paperwork, and medical examinations.

About Meng Bomin

Real name Benjamin Main, I am a graduate of Grinnell College with a degree in Biological Chemistry.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I have joined the United States Navy

  1. Anna Olson says:

    Congratulations and best wishes, Ben! This is a big step. I look forward to reading your comments as you begin your training!

  2. TGGP says:

    What made you decide to do this after studying biochem?

  3. Meng Bomin says:

    To be honest, by the end of my time at college, I’d lost a lot of my initial enthusiasm for biochem. I was halfheartedly looking at grad school or medical school, but I didn’t really feel much passion for either option. Obviously nuclear power is a much different animal than biochemistry, but I think I’ll get to use my math skills a bit more and I’ll have more of a life direction.

  4. Congratulations

  5. I know it’s a year late, but congratulations! As one who use to sail the seven seas, I know you’ll enjoy your time out there. All my best!

Leave a Reply

