Addendum on Clinton and Nukes

On Friday, I posted about a Senator Clinton’s remarks in criticism of Senator Obama’s statement that nuclear weapons were off the table with regard to fighting al-Qaida in Afghanistan and Pakistan.  For rehash, this is what Clinton said:

Presidents should be very careful at all times in discussing the use or nonuse of nuclear weapons. … I don’t believe that any president should make statements with respect to the use or nonuse of nuclear weapons

Interestingly enough, a pro-Obama source (Irish Americans for Obama) found another interesting quote from Senator Clinton in an interview during April last year with Bloomberg’s Al Hunt:

HUNT: Senator, you sit in the Armed Services Committee. There were reports this weekend, the “Washington Post” and elsewhere, that the United States is considering a military option against Iran if it won’t relinquish any ambitions to nuclear weapons. The “New Yorker” even said that we’re considering using nuclear – tactical nuclear weapons. Should those options be on the table when it comes to Iran?

CLINTON: Well, I have said publicly no option should be off the table, but I would certainly take nuclear weapons off the table. And this administration has been very willing to talk about using nuclear weapons in a way we haven’t seen since the dawn of a nuclear age. I think that’s a terrible mistake.

This changes my opinion of Clinton’s statement from silly to outright hypocrisy.  That is, unless the junior Senator from New York doesn’t think she’s qualified to be President, in which case she should stop campaigning.

The article from Irish Americans for Obama mentions two other issues of contention.  The first is Senator Clinton’s stance on diplomacy, which many Obama supporters have labeled as inconsistent.  I, on the contrary, am willing to give her the benefit of the doubt.  I think she may just be selectively emphasizing nuances in her view.  This may be somewhat deceiving to some, but it is not outright hypocrisy as is the above statement.

The second issue is over her statements over the decision to authorize President Bush’s action in Iraq.  I have not kept a close watch on those statements, but I find her decision in general to be disturbing.  If she was so easily misled by the President, how am I supposed to trust her judgement as President herself?

In the end, I find it highly unlikely that I would vote for/support Senator Clinton in the Iowa Democratic Caucus and if she wins the Democratic nomination, I would only likely vote for her if I saw her as the lesser of two evils (given the Republican candidates, this is unfortunately quite likely).

Of course, fortunately, Clinton is not the only choice besides Obama and I will still have some options to compare to Barack’s candidacy (which is looking pretty good to me now) in case I change my mind.  I hope that as the election approaches and the issues come further into the spotlight, my fellow primary and caucus voters will be able to see past Clinton’s relatively vapid campaign and associations with her husband.  The course of this nation depends upon it.

About Meng Bomin

Real name Benjamin Main, I am a graduate of Grinnell College with a degree in Biological Chemistry.
This entry was posted in Current events, Opinions, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

