The Annenberg Political FactCheck

Dick Cheney brought a lot of attention to the Annenberg Foundation’s non-partison FactCheck.org when he mistakenly referred to it as factcheck.com during the Vice Presidential Debate in 2004.  Afterwards, many people flocked to the site to find out the latest in political dishonesty before the 2004 election.

Though I wasn’t able to vote in the 2004 Presidential election, being only 17 at the time, I was still interested in the election and I chose to receive email updates from FactCheck.org.  I have continued to receive them but I haven’t been paying a great deal of attention to them because for the most part they discussed statements I hadn’t seen or heard, and often the same was true of the politicians they concerned.

However the subject of their July 25th article caught my attention because it was on the topic of the CNN-YouTube debate, which I watched via YouTube and posted about briefly.  Apparently there were a few factual errors, but most of them were not incredibly severe (after all, it is early in the race), but it does serve as a good reminder to be wary of what comes out of candidates’ mouths.  They may have the charm and good looks and talk about issues you care about, but remember that they are still trying to sell something and will resort to fibs or even outright lies if they think they can get away with them.

I’m going to link to FactCheck.org on my Election 2008 resources page, which is still pretty basic.  I’ll add more when I have more free time.

About Meng Bomin

Real name Benjamin Main, I am a graduate of Grinnell College with a degree in Biological Chemistry.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

