Brief explanation for renaming

Shortly after publishing my review of Safari 3 for Windows beta, I changed the name of this blog from “Terra Nova” to Meng Bomin.  I did this for a few reasons.  First and foremost was the popularity of the “Terra Nova” name.  There is already a popular blog about virtual worlds with the name, which even has its own entry on Wikipedia, as well as several companies.

Furthermore, as I mentioned in this post, Terra Nova was a temporary name for the blog representing the fact that it was new ground for my blog (the previous ground being my old Blogger blog, which I’m using only for testing now).  It is now my main blog, so it is no longer terra nova.

So, why now?  Well, I figured that since there was a chance of getting traffic from my review after posting it on digg, I decided not to have my blog name match that of another, much more popular blog.

Why Meng Bomin?  Well, I’m already locked onto the url, so I might as well keep the title.  In case you have not already read this post, Mèng Bómín (孟柏民) is my name from Chinese class.  It also has some advantages over my English name (compare the Google searches for Meng Bomin and Ben Main to get a good idea as to why). 

About Meng Bomin

Real name Benjamin Main, I am a graduate of Grinnell College with a degree in Biological Chemistry.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

