A quick overview of my religious views

I’ve recently posted a few thoughts on stem cell research and synthetic life.  In both topics I bring up in general terms, views typical to Christian conservatives in the United States.  As I have not yet discussed my own religious views, I feel to be fair to my readers, I should post them.

I am an atheist.  I don’t believe in any deities whatsoever.  This is not to say that I think that the prospect of deities existing is impossible, just highly unlikely.  I am open to the possibility that I am wrong about this, but to convince me that such is the case, one would have to provide compelling evidence that a deity exists.

I have not always been an atheist.  I was raised by liberal Christian parents, so I attended Sunday school and read bits of the Bible.  In about seventh grade I started to be a nonbeliever.  Since then I have switched between agnosticism and atheism.

I’ll probably post about my beliefs in more detail sometime in the future, but this serves as a good disclaimer for now.

About Meng Bomin

Real name Benjamin Main, I am a graduate of Grinnell College with a degree in Biological Chemistry.
This entry was posted in Personal, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

