Obama leaves Trinity

Here’s some news that caught me by surprise.  Today, Obama announced that he was withdrawing his membership from his long-time church, Trinity United Church of Christ.

I have mixed feelings about this.  On one hand, I’m not one who particularly cares about religion in politics, so long as it doesn’t interfere with policy.  A politician’s religion is his or her prerogative, not the business of the public unless it interferes with his or her decision making.  Most of our Representatives are Christian of one sort or another, overrepresenting the United States’ religious majority of which I am not a part.

On the other hand, I was a bit saddened by the news.  A church represents part of a person’s social circle, and Obama and his family have been attending Trinity for quite some time now.  In withdrawing their membership, they are weakening some of their social bonds and the sad part is that this comes about for political reasons.

Now, I have watched Obama’s comments on this topic and while I agree that it was probably the best decision to make given the news coverage of every controversial remark made from the pulpit and the undue attention paid to church members, who are probably seeing Obama’s candidacy as much as a curse as they would see it as a blessing.

Of course, this brings me to another problem.  Whatever church Obama chooses to join next may suffer under the same curse that’s plaguing Trinity: overeager reporters looking to get a scoop on the most controversial part of the Obama candidacy so far:  his religious life.

In the end, this comes full circle, with an increased interest in the religious aspect of the race, I feel that I might get a bit irritated this election cycle as both an atheist and a secularist.  I can hope that this won’t be a big issue, but I doubt that my wishes will come true here.

About Meng Bomin

Real name Benjamin Main, I am a graduate of Grinnell College with a degree in Biological Chemistry.
This entry was posted in Current events, Opinions, Politics, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Obama leaves Trinity

  1. Rory says:

    If you saw Barak Obama give the press conference today where he ditched his church membership, then you saw a very troubled man indeed. I don’t agree with his church’s rhetoric but I did expect him to have loyalty to his church and to not be influenced by the media. Senator Obama just does not have the core beliefs and soul to lead our nation. He said that he refers to scripture every day. How can Senator Obama refer to the bible everyday and live with his own approval of abortion, the murder of God’s unborn children. I just don’t believe this poor lost soul of a man one bit.

  2. Meng Bomin says:

    I understand your disagreement with the decision, and I agree with you to a limited extent on that front. However, I can understand how the church and the campaign have hurt each other as long as he’s stayed a member.

    As for the abortion issue, I see education as much more effective than legislation. The most effective way to lower abortion rates is to lower teen pregnancy rates and the way to do that is to give adolescents a full education on issues of sexuality. Senator Obama’s views do not conflict with this at all. I personally think that pro-life organizations are investing their resources poorly when they push for a legislative means to decrease abortion, since abortion will continue unabated so long as there is demand.

    Prohibition didn’t end alcohol sales…it just drove them underground and that’s what a ban on abortion would do.

  3. Cary says:

    Barack is a man and he took a stand. DO NOT criticize him. He absolutely had to dump the reverend and church for the campaign. Look, the brothers in Chicago understand this. No hard feelings now, he still loves them. When Barack, my man, gets to the new “Black House”, he and Wright and Moss can sit around the Oval Office and joke about it. Just chill!, dudes. Yours in Christ, Troy

Leave a Reply

